This post is a bit of a retrospective. I'm still a white belt and complete newbie (I hate that word) at brazilian jiu jitsu, but being honest, I have been attending class for a couple months now. I wanted to start this blog for a few reasons. First, to get my thoughts and ideas out of my head for me, my self, to remember later. Second, I wanted to perhaps put some stuff online for others to look at, and get some amusement out of, and maybe help them make a decision to start bjj on their own.
So back to "What am I doing?" This is a question I was asking myself early on. You may be thinking that I'm asking this question because I've put my self in this situation at 34 years old, which, in all honestly is akward at first, physiclly demanding, and requires a certain amount of persistence and dedication.
In reality, I was asking myself more literally, "What the hell am I supposed to be doing?" I am there, in the first day of class, watching the other guys in there, know exactly what to do; whereas there I was, completely lost. To be honest, I was well aware that within a few weeks, I would be comfortable exectuting most tasks as well as any other entry level guy...
But no, seriously "break fall"? what the hell is that? All I can do is copy everyone else and help for the best. This is what I did, and I did it partially right for the next few weeks, and was corrected along the way. I am proud to say I do most of that warm-up stuff (Bridges, Shrimping, Break Falls, Satnd-in Base etc...) ok now. I'm sure I could work harder on doing these in a crisper fashion, and using better technique, but I think I will figure it out...